Funding for the NSLS-II

The operating funds for the National Synchrotron Light Source II comes from the Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES) within the Office of Science.

In the Congressional budget process, the BES program is governed by four Congressional Committees that are shown in the table below. Each Committee contains a subcommittee that specifically considers the BES portion of the President's Budget Request.

Congressional Committees with responsibilities that include BES

Type of Committee House of Representatives The Senate
Authorization Committee on Science Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
   - subcommittee Energy Energy
Appropriations Committee on Appropriations Committee on Appropriations
   - subcommittee Energy and Water Development Energy and Water Development

Authorizing Committee

A committee of the House or Senate with legislative jurisdiction over laws that set up or continue the operations of Federal programs and provide the legal basis for making appropriations for those programs.

Authorizing Legislation

Legislation enacted by Congress that sets up or continues the operation of a Federal program or agency indefinitely or for a specific period of time. Authorizing legislation may limit the amount of budget authority which can be appropriated for a program or may authorize the appropriation of "such sums as are necessary."

Appropriations Committee

A committee of the House or Senate that provides authority for Federal agencies to incur obligations and to make payments out of the Treasury for specified purposes. An appropriation act is the most common means of providing budget authority. Currently, there are 13 regular appropriations acts for each fiscal year. From time to time, Congress also enacts supplemental appropriations acts.